Sue Grafton
Fiction - Mystery
The Kinsey Millhone Series > A to Y > 25 books
    Sue Grafton
Born: Sue Taylor Grafton
April 24, 1940, Louisville, Kentucky, U.S.A.
Died: December 28, 2017, age 77 years old, Santa Barbara, California, U.S.A.
Spouse: Steve Humphrey (m. 1978)
    She was a contemporary American author of detective novels. She is best known as the author of the 'alphabet series' ("A" Is for Alibi, etc.) featuring private investigator Kinsey Millhone in the fictional city of Santa Teresa, California. The daughter of detective novelist C. W. Grafton, she has said the strongest influence on her crime novels is author Ross Macdonald. Prior to success with this series, she wrote screenplays for television movies.
    Grafton, who has been divorced twice, has been married for more than 20 years to Steven F. Humphrey. She has three children from previous marriages and several grandchildren, including granddaughters named Erin and Kinsey. Grafton and her husband live in Montecito, California, and Louisville, Kentucky, as Humphrey teaches at universities in both cities.
    Grafton died in Santa Barbara on December 28, 2017, after a two-year battle with cancer.

Read Victoria Comella's Article on Sue Grafton
"G is for Gratitude: Remembering Sue Grafton"

The Kinsey Millhone books:
Steven > Books I have read *
I've read many of her  books but I can not remember which ones. So I downloaded "'A' is for Alibi" and I hope to read them in order...

1 - "A" Is for Alibi (1982) *
2 - "B" Is for Burglar (1985)
3 - "C" Is for Corpse (1986)
4 - "D" Is for Deadbeat (1987)
5 - "E" Is for Evidence (1988)
6 - "F" Is for Fugitive (1989)
7 - "G" Is for Gumshoe (1990)
8 - "H" Is for Homicide (1991)
9 - "I" Is for Innocent (1992)
10 - "J" Is for Judgment (1993)
11 - "K" Is for Killer (1994)
12 - "L" Is for Lawless (1995)
13 - "M" Is for Malice (1996)
14 - "N" Is for Noose (1998)
15 - "O" Is for Outlaw (1999)
16 - "P" Is for Peril (2001)
17 - "Q" Is for Quarry (2002)
18 - "R" Is for Ricochet (2004)
19 - "S" Is for Silence (2005)
20 - "T" Is for Trespass (2007)
21 - "U" Is for Undertow (2009)
22 - "V" Is for Vengeance (2011)
23 - "W" Is for Wasted (2013)
24 - "X" (2015)
25 - "Y" Is for Yesterday (22 August 2017)
--    "Z" Is for Zero > Grafton publicly stated that the final novel in the series would be titled "Z" Is for Zero, but she did not live to start writing it.
Short story collections
1 - The Lying Game (2003) – a Kinsey Millhone short story which appeared in the September 2003 special 40th anniversary Lands' End catalogue. It also appeared as a separate pamphlet given to attendees at Malice Domestic 2011 conference, where Grafton was recognized for Lifetime Achievement.
2 - Kinsey and Me* (2013) – a collection of Kinsey Millhone short stories along with other short stories about Grafton's own mother.
Other Works
Early novels
1 - Keziah Dane (1967)
2 - The Lolly-Madonna War (1969) – filmed as Lolly-Madonna XXX (1973)
Also published
1 - "Teaching a Child" (2013) – essay in the anthology Knitting Yarns: Writers on Knitting,
published by W. W. Norton & Company.
Kinsey Millhone, private investigator
Henry Pitts
Rosie, - Henry's Sibling
Lt. Con Dolan
Lonnie Kingman
Vera Lipton
Darcy Pascoe
Ida Ruth
Mac Voorhies
Charlie Scorsoni
Jonah Robb
Daniel Wade
Robert Dietz
Mickey Magruder

   The Kinsey Millhone Series

Kinsey Millhone is a private investigator in (fictional) Santa Teresa, California (based on the city of Santa Barbara). In her 30s, she ages one year every 2 1/2 books, from 32 in A to 38 in W.
  "Private eye Kinsey Millhone is probably the most popular, and certainly the best of the female gumshoes to make their big splash in the eighties -- or at least one of the top two (a case could certainly be made for Sara Paretsky's V.I. Warshawski).
   Kinsey's charm lies in the fact that she's a woman of "rare spunk and independence," and that not only does she think she's tougher and smarter than she is, but that she consistently surprises the reader by being smarter and tougher than we think she is. She's no white knight, seething at the injustices of the world, but a pragmatic businesswoman whose quixotic streak and personal idiosyncrasies are balanced against her dedication and loyalty to her clients.
   Because, at first glance, she's an accident waiting to happen. She drives a decrepit Volkswagen, she cuts her own hair with toenail scissors, she lives in a garage with a closet full of neuroses and one dress, a remarkable piece of black, synthetic miracle fabric which seems more capable of handling the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune than Kinsey is. Oh, and she's permanently stuck in the eighties. Although that's by design -- unlike most series detectives, Kinsey's adventures all take place within a few yerars of each other.
   But it's not all D is for Dysfunction. When it comes to business, Kinsey's a true professional. She's a dogged investigator, tough and smart but never reckless, not afraid to knock on doors and do the legwork. And refreshingly, she's not afraid to let us see the business side of her business, be it worrying about paying the office utility bills, collecting from deadbeat clients, or sweating over licensing woes or contract hassles. It adds a a cold dash of pragmatism and versimultude that neatly balances her personal quirks.
   Kinsey's turf is the sun-blinded streets of southern California's Santa Teresa (actually Santa Barbara -- the same streets Ross Macdonald's Lew Archer prowled).
   Incidentally, Kinsey's creator, Sue Grafton, insists she only writes about crime -- she doesn't commit it. She confesses that she's a "law-abiding little bun." And she's the daughter of C.W. Grafton, whose own The Rat Began to Gnaw the Rope is considered by many to be a classic of crime fiction. "
- from
The Kinsey Millhone series
Notes on Short Stories
The Kinsey Millhone short stories featured in 'Kinsey & Me'* (1986-93) are:
1 - Between The Sheets
2 - Long Gone
3 - The Parker Shotgun
(won Anthony Award - Best Short Story)
4 - Non Sung Smoke
5 - Falling Off The Roof
6 - A Poison That Leaves No Trace
7 - Full Circle
8 - A Little Missionary Work
9 -The Lying Game
  The publication date of this book was January 8, 2013.
   Kinsey and Me has two parts: The nine Kinsey stories, each a gem of detection; and the And Me stories, written in the decade after Grafton’s mother died.

The first Kinsey Millhone book
...for the enjoyment
and passion of words,
thoughts, visuals and disciplines.     Page updated: March 28, 2018